DUI Suspension Law Set to Change
An important change to California DMV DUI Suspensions starts on January 1, 2019. Currently law requires an individual determined administratively by the DMV to have suffered a DUI to first serve a 30-day “hard” suspension before being eligible for a restricted license. What this means is that the person affected may not drive at all for 30 straight days following their suspension.
The California Legislature, has made an important practical change which wipes out this mandatory 30-day suspension. But it does not come with a cost. The new law is codified in California Vehicle Code § 13353.6, and it provides that an individual who has their driving privilege suspended for a DUI may immediately install a ignition interlock device in their car without serving any suspension. As long as the person does so, they can continue to drive, provided the device is installed and functioning properly.
So while it may be inconvenient and embarrassing to have to blow into a breathalyzer before starting your car, at least those with a DUI DMV suspension can continue to drive to work and engage in their normal daily routine.
Driving Under the Influence Causing Injury Conviction – Changes Also Coming
In addition to the above, those convicted of California Vehicle Code § 23153 will also now be allowed to obtain a restricted license, whereas before they were required to serve and an entire year of a hard (no driving at all) suspension. Provided these individuals install an ignition interlock device, provide proof of financial responsibility, and are enrolled in and complying with their DUI school, they can obtain a restricted license and get back on the road.
Contact our office if you would like more information about this and other new laws coming to California in 2019.